English
United Kingdom
Sign in
Tip from euro-book.co.uk
Similar books
Search tools
Book recommendations
Latest news
Advertising
FILTER
- 0 Results
Lowest price: 5.31 €, highest price: 66.28 €, average price: 21.38 €
Selected Poems - Charles Tomlinson
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Charles Tomlinson:
Selected Poems - Paperback

ISBN: 0811213692

[SR: 385703], Paperback, [EAN: 9780811213691], New Directions, New Directions, Book, [PU: New Directions], New Directions, An accessible retrospective of the great poet. In the tradition of Wallace Stevens, Charles Tomlinson's Selected Poems―encompassing his work from 1955 to 1997―records the logic of human perception, embodying aspects of both tragedy and possibility. Here is the long-awaited compendium of the work of one of England's contemporary masters and one of this century's grea, The English poet Charles Tomlinson has undergone a long apprenticeship to American poetry and the American landscape, and has even produced a memoir called Some Americans. It's curious, then, that he's not more of a household word in this country, as are Ted Hughes or Philip Larkin. Perhaps he's paid the price for the lack of dirty laundry in his art. In any case, his is a capacious spirit, a journeying mind. Tomlinson's intuition has always been to look outward, to identify the object in order to make the inner self transparent. The tone is modest, the intonation subtle. He is invariably a man for whom, as one of his book titles reaffirms, seeing is believing. Something at the edge of things attracts Tomlinson's imagination. He likes to position himself in extreme situations, seeking out the physical side of extremity while keeping tight control over his verse. He makes the value of awareness palpable, and in his "language of water, light and air" there is a refreshing absence of the first-person pronoun. Indeed, having published his work since the dawn of the Elvis era, Tomlinson has supplied a helpful corrective to the postwar emphasis on the ego. Even the heavenly bodies are seen not on the poet's terms, but on their own, "like the full / Moon slowly given to the night, / A possession that is not to be possessed." --Mark Rudman, 10250, Anthologies, 10248, Poetry, 17, Literature & Fiction, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 10096, British & Irish, 10159388011, European, 10159384011, Regional & Cultural, 10248, Poetry, 17, Literature & Fiction, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books

New book Amazon.com
swati21
, Neuware Shipping costs:Usually ships in 1-2 business days, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Charles Tomlinson: Selected Poems, 1955-1997 - Charles Tomlinson
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Charles Tomlinson:
Charles Tomlinson: Selected Poems, 1955-1997 - Paperback

ISBN: 0811213692

[SR: 744451], Taschenbuch, [EAN: 9780811213691], New Directions, New Directions, Book, [PU: New Directions], New Directions, The English poet Charles Tomlinson has undergone a long apprenticeship to American poetry and the American landscape, and has even produced a memoir called Some Americans. It's curious, then, that he's not more of a household word in this country, as are Ted Hughes or Philip Larkin. Perhaps he's paid the price for the lack of dirty laundry in his art. In any case, his is a capacious spirit, a journeying mind. Tomlinson's intuition has always been to look outward, to identify the object in order to make the inner self transparent. The tone is modest, the intonation subtle. He is invariably a man for whom, as one of his book titles reaffirms, seeing is believing. Something at the edge of things attracts Tomlinson's imagination. He likes to position himself in extreme situations, seeking out the physical side of extremity while keeping tight control over his verse. He makes the value of awareness palpable, and in his "language of water, light and air" there is a refreshing absence of the first-person pronoun. Indeed, having published his work since the dawn of the Elvis era, Tomlinson has supplied a helpful corrective to the postwar emphasis on the ego. Even the heavenly bodies are seen not on the poet's terms, but on their own, "like the full / Moon slowly given to the night, / A possession that is not to be possessed." --Mark Rudman, 68071011, Poesie, 68215011, Britisch, 68085011, Weltliteratur, 66034011, Belletristik, 54071011, Genres, 52044011, Fremdsprachige Bücher

New book Amazon.de (Intern...
Amazon.de
, Neuware Shipping costs:Versandkostenfrei innerhalb EU, Schweiz und Liechtenstein (sofern Lieferung möglich). Gewöhnlich versandfertig in 24 Stunden (EUR 0.00)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Selected Poems - Charles Tomlinson
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Charles Tomlinson:
Selected Poems - used book

ISBN: 0811213692

ID: 4391903

The English poet Charles Tomlinson has undergone a long apprenticeship to American poetry and the American landscape, and has even produced a memoir called Some Americans. It's curious, then, that he's not more of a household word in this country, as are Ted Hughes or Philip Larkin. Perhaps he's paid the price for the lack of dirty laundry in his art. In any case, his is a capacious spirit, a journeying mind. Tomlinson's intuition has always been to look outward, to identify the object in order to make the inner self transparent. The tone is modest, the intonation subtle. He is invariably a man for whom, as one of his book titles reaffirms, seeing is believing. Something at the edge of things attracts Tomlinson's imagination. He likes to position himself in extreme situations, seeking out the physical side of extremity while keeping tight control over his verse. He makes the value of awareness palpable, and in his "language of water, light and air" there is a refreshing absence of the first-person pronoun. Indeed, having published his work since the dawn of the Elvis era, Tomlinson has supplied a helpful corrective to the postwar emphasis on the ego. Even the heavenly bodies are seen not on the poet's terms, but on their own, "like the full / Moon slowly given to the night, / A possession that is not to be possessed." --Mark Rudman criticism and theory,history and criticism,literature and fiction,poetry Poetry, New Directions

Used or antiquarian book Thriftbooks.com
used Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Charles Tomlinson: Selected Poems, 1955-1997 - Charles Tomlinson
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Charles Tomlinson:
Charles Tomlinson: Selected Poems, 1955-1997 - new book

ISBN: 9780811213691

ID: 7c06a80f411e7fb3e2c54e2441df653b

Charles Tomlinson: Selected Poems, 1955-1997 In the tradition of Wallace Stevens, Charles Tomlinson's SELECTED POEMS--encompassing his work from 1955 to 1997--records the logic of human perception, embodying aspects of both tragedy and possibility. Here is the long-awaited compendium of the work of one of England's contemporary masters and one of this century's great poets. Bücher / Fremdsprachige Bücher / Englische Bücher 978-0-8112-1369-1, New Directions

New book Buch.ch
Nr. 3237935 Shipping costs:Bei Bestellungen innerhalb der Schweiz berechnen wir Fr. 3.50 Portokosten, Bestellungen ab EUR Fr. 75.00 sind frei. Die voraussichtliche Versanddauer liegt bei 1 bis 2 Werktagen., wird besorgt, Lieferzeit unbekannt, zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Selected Poems - Charles Tomlinson
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Charles Tomlinson:
Selected Poems - new book

1998, ISBN: 9780811213691

Das BuchSelected Poemskönnte eine längere Lieferzeit habenSie zahlen eine Versandpauschale für bis zu fünf Bücher Typ:book Selected Poems, [SC: 25.00], Neuware, gewerbliches Angebot, [GW: 4516g], [PU: New Directions Publishing]

New book Booklooker.de
Magazin Aziya
Shipping costs:Versand nach Deutschland (EUR 25.00)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.

Details of the book
Charles Tomlinson: Selected Poems, 1955-1997

In the tradition of Wallace Stevens, Charles Tomlinson's SELECTED POEMS--encompassing his work from 1955 to 1997--records the logic of human perception, embodying aspects of both tragedy and possibility. Here is the long-awaited compendium of the work of one of England's contemporary masters and one of this century's great poets.

Details of the book - Charles Tomlinson: Selected Poems, 1955-1997


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780811213691
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0811213692
Hardcover
Paperback
Publishing year: 1997
Publisher: NEW DIRECTIONS
226 Pages
Weight: 0,245 kg
Language: eng/Englisch

Book in our database since 30.03.2007 05:21:46
Book found last time on 23.02.2017 23:12:55
ISBN/EAN: 0811213692

ISBN - alternate spelling:
0-8112-1369-2, 978-0-8112-1369-1


< to archive...
Related books